Concert Review: Dr. Dog at 9:30 Club

Though foliage may have occupied most of the stage, Dr. Dog still owned 9:30 Club last night.

Last night was my first time seeing Dr. Dog, and I was blown away. It was more than the stage deco (which seemed more appropriate for of Montreal or some other glam 80’s band); the band’s energy through the set was astounding.
As a relatively new fan, I didn’t know what to expect from the show, the crowd, or the band. All I knew was that 9:30 Club is a great venue, and if Dr. Dog was as talented as I hoped, the show would be monumental.
Dr. Dog
The band opened with “The Old Days”, a well-known crowd pleaser. Most of the setlist followed suit, coming from the two newest albums, Fate and We All Belong.
The band played almost non-stop through the set, injecting the audience with the non-stop energy rock music today seems to lack. The most memorable songs were “The Ark”, “Ain’t It Strange”, and “Alaska”; those three brought the crowd to their peak, with everyone (even those who didn’t know the words – cough, me) singing along.
Dr. Dog’s relative youth and consistent energy was refreshing, and assuaged all of my Spin-inspired worries. Try and catch them the next time they’re in the US; they really aren’t a group to miss.

Setlist:

Courtesy of Elis Personal Stash

Courtesy of Eli's Personal Stash


I Hope There’s Love (e)
OHNO (e)
Fuck It (e)

Last night’s show was the end of the US tour; Dr. Dog’s last show of 2008 is December 30 at the Pyramid Rock Festival in Melbourne, AU.

5 responses to “Concert Review: Dr. Dog at 9:30 Club

  1. I agree, excellent in concert. I’ve been a fan for a few years now and never seemed to get a chance to catch them live. They surpassed my expectations last night though.

    The opening song, “The Old Days”, is actually from their new album.

  2. interesting that you thought the most memorable songs were those 3. i’d have gone with “the girl” and “from,” and i agree with “the ark.” also, it’d be cool if you could link to me from that caption or pic (broken link). thanks!

  3. interesting that you thought the most memorable songs were those 3. i’d have gone with “the girl” and “from,” and i agree with “the ark.” also, it’d be cool if you could link to me from that caption or pic (broken link). thanks!

  4. Done and done.
    Sorry! Thought that the caption underneath the photo would link.
    Best, Shayna

  5. I was at the show the other night, too. Thanks for the setlist post.

    I have to say, in reflection, a few things struck me about Dr. Dog:

    1) They are an immensely powerful band to see live. What I mean by that is the band’s setup and sound value. The drums and bass were thundering (to the point where both could have been lowered just a touch).

    2) The arrangements and the tempos from more than a few songs are different from the songs on their records. I felt like the show at the 9:30 Club was loaded down with dueling guitars (which was awesome), whereas on the albums the band’s signature sound is created through the use of a number of instruments that weren’t present on stage Wednesday night.

    3) The only criticism I have of them is their pitch selection for a few songs. Maybe this is just me, but it seems a significant number of the band’s songs are played in the same key. At the show, I noticed either their pitch was flat on a few songs, and this struck me as odd because of how tight they were as a band. The only rationale I can come up with for this anomaly is that a few songs were purposely played at half a step lower than their signature key and members of the band had trouble adjusting their vocals.

    Still, quite the show. Highlights for me were “The Ark” and “Oh No.”

    Want to see them again ASAP.

Leave a Reply

